Stephan Maass


Born 1967 in Bad Homburg/Germany, grew up in Bavaria, lived in Vienna/Austria for twenty years, back in Bavaria since 2012.

Stephan has participated in over 700 recordings and countless film productions (TV and cinema).
He has received numerous gold and platinum/multiplatinum awards, as well as other awards (e.g. the Austrian Amadeus award for best national pop-production 2005 for Georg Danzer’s album “Persönlich” as producer, together with Dieter Kolbeck). Stephan covers a wide musical range from Jazz productions such as Colin Towns’ Mask Orchestra (UK) and NDR-Bigband (Broadcast Bigband), via Austropop like Rainhard Fendrich and popacts like Xavier Naidoo, to electronic acts like Kruder & Dorfmeister.

He has worked for numerous Grammy award winning producers and award winning film composers.
As a producer he has worked for record companies such as Universal and Sony BMG.
As percussionist he has played drumclinics and drumfestivals (e.g. Superdrumming 2003, 2008, 2013 and Meinl Drumfestival 2006, 2008, Meinl Percussionfestival 2018) as a meinlpercussion endorser (among others with Benny Greb, Ralf Gustke, Jojo Mayer etc.). Stephan had interviews in many big drummagazines (e.g. drums&percussion, sticks, idrummag, Magazyn Percusista).

He has held the position of professor for percussion (Jazz department) at the Anton Bruckner Privatuniversity Linz/Austria since 2007 and has directed
worldwide workshops and percussion clinics.
Stephan has toured regularly since the early 90′s and is developing musical/percussion concepts (maassmusic) for theatre (e.g. with Terry Hands, former director of the Royal Shakespeare Company), dance theatre and film music (Universum-Film, Formula 1, Red Bull Media House).Since 2015 he is member of the advisory panel for the Austrian National Competition “Podium jazz.pop.rock…” of “MUSIK DER JUGEND”.

Selected Credits
Mousse T Filmorchester Babelsberg Goar B Colin Towns’Mask Orchestra
Wir Beaten Mehr Band (Xavier Naidoo, Jan Delay, Cassandra Steen, Max Herre, Joy Denalane, Sido, Kool Savas, Adel Tawil) NDR Bigband Blue Touch Paper Vienna Scientists Nils Landgren Geir Lysne Roisin Murphy Harold Faltermeyer Thomas D. Konstantin Wecker Harald Juhnke Udo Jürgens Gloria Gaynor Act. (feat. Missy Elliott, Mary J. Blige, Jadakiss, Wyclef, Brandy, Jon B, Eve, Faith Evans, Ashanti…..) Peter Wolf Franz Benton EAV Rainhard Fendrich Austria 3 Georg Danzer Wolfgang Ambros Kruder&Dorfmeister Dzihan & Kamien Megablast & Makossa Count Basic Beat4Feet Pecoraro&Pecoraro Hangar 7 Sound Madita Jade Unique II Opus Semino Rossi Vusa Mkhaya Bayete Wolfgang Puschnig Nina Proll Karlheinz Hackl Tobias Moretti Terry Hands Kurt Ostbahn Claudio Roditti Dhafer Youssef Thomas Lang Harry Sokal Guy Barker Andy McKee Adam Nitti Jeff Coffin Mark Lettieri Derico Watson Philip Lassiter
Peter King Alan Skidmore Tim Garland Matthew Garrison Hansi Lang Joesi Prokopetz Wiener Sängerknaben Gary Husband Ralph Salmins Gerald Veasley Jiri Stivin Alex Acuna Randy Brecker Jimmy Woody Ray Anderson Carlo Mombelli Alan Dargin Julio Barbosa Raoul de Souza JoJo Mayer Idris Muhammad Bob Mintzer Jim Pepper Wolfgang Haffner Vladislav Sendecki Etta Scollo Claudia Koreck Edward Maclean Hugo Strasser Brunner&Brunner……..